Kimberley Causey-Gomez


Michal Rhymer-Browne

Assistant Commissioner - St. Thomas


Carla Benjamin

Assistant Commissioner - St. Croix

U.S. Virgin Islands

Department of Human Services

Office of The Commissioner

Virgin Islands Interagency Council on Homelessness

"Charting the Course to End Chronic Homelessness in the U.S. Virgin Islands"

The Virgin Islands Interagency Council on Homelessness (VIICH) was established within the Department of Human Services by an Executive Order of Governor Charles W. Turnbull and serves as the single Territorial resource for homelessness planning and policy development.

The council is responsible for advising the Governor and the Legislature on issues related to the problems of persons who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless and provide recommendations for joint cooperative efforts and policy initiatives in carrying out programs to meet the needs of the homeless.

The VIICH is also responsible for implementing a ten-year plan to end chronic homelessness with emphasis on preventing and ending chronic homelessness by the year 2012.

The council is composed of twenty-six (26) members appointed by the Governor and the Commissioner of Human Services serves as Chairperson.

Interagency Council Membership:

  1. Chief of Staff, Office of the Governor
  2. Liaison for Housing, Office of the Governor
  3. President, Legislature of the Virgin Islands
  4. Commissioner of Human Services - Team Leader
  5. Director, Community Block Grant - Asst. Team Leader
  6. Commissioner, Department of Labor
  7. Commissioner, Department of Health
  8. Director of Mental Health, Department of Health
  9. Chief Executive Officer, Schneider Regional Medical Center
  10. Chief Executive Officer, Juan F. Luis Hospital
  11. Commissioner, Housing, Parks and Recreation
  12. Commissioner, V.I. Police Department
  13. Director, Bureau of Corrections
  14. Attorney General of the Virgin Islands
  15. Executive Director, V.I. Housing Authority
  16. Director, Veterans Affairs
  17. Executive Director, United Way of St. Croix
  18. Executive Director, United Way of St. Thomas
  19. Homeless Representative St. Thomas/St. John
  20. Executive Director, Catholic Charities
  21. Executive Director, Methodist Training Outreach Center
  22. Family Alliance for Mentally Ill Representative
  23. President Chamber of Commerce STT/STJ
  24. President Chamber of Commerce STX
  25. Inter-faith Coalition of St. Croix
  26. Inter-faith Coalition of St. Thomas

The VIICH collaborates with and maintains on-going interaction with the Continuum of Care (CoC) to provide support and assistance in the application process. The Council meets at least once quarterly. Members serve a three year term and may be reappointed.

Other useful links

  1. Interagency Council on Homelessness
  2. Methodist Training & Outreach Center Inc.