Kimberley Causey-Gomez


Michal Rhymer-Browne

Assistant Commissioner - St. Thomas


Carla Benjamin

Assistant Commissioner - St. Croix

U.S. Virgin Islands

Department of Human Services

About Us

Our Mission

The Department of Human Services is committed to emerge as a public sector agency that empowers individuals and families towards self-sufficiency through a seamless delivery system of services.

Our Vision

The Department of Human Services is geared toward and prepared to provide responsive and effective services, designed to motivate individuals and families to achieve their highest levels of self-sufficiency.

Past Commissioners: Human Services

Mrs. Sedonie Halbert
1997 - 2006
Mrs. Catherine Mills
1995 - 1997
Mrs. Juel T. R. Molloy
1987 -1995

Past Commissioners: Social Welfare

Mr. Norman Johansen
1984 - 1987
Mrs. Gwendolyn Blake, ACSW
1974 - 1984
Mr. Macon Berryman, ACSW
1959 - 1974
Mr. Roy Bornn, LHD
1936 - 1958
Mr. Alonzo G. Moron
1933 - 1936